top of page
Court Métrage - dissonArt ensemble
00:00 / 00:00



  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black SoundCloud Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Born in Athens, Greece in May 1978, Nicolas Tzortzis has been living in Paris, France, since 2002. He studied instrumental and electronic composition with Philippe Leroux at the CRD de Blanc Mesnil and at the University of Montreal (PhD, April 2013), musical theatre composition with Georges Aperghis at the Hochschule der Kunste in Bern, Switzerland and Computer Aided Composition at the University of Paris 8 under the direction of Horacio Vaggione and José Manuel Lopez-Lopez. In 2009-2010 he attended the CURSUS 1 of composition and computer music at the IRCAM and was later selected for the CURSUS 2 for the years 2010-2012, where he presented “Incompatible(s) V” for silent piano and live electronics, premiered by Pavlos Antoniadis.

He has taken part in master classes with Karlheinz Stockhausen, Brian Ferneyhough, Beat Furrer and François Paris, as well as computer music seminars at the IRCAM.  In 2010, he was selected for the 6th New Composers Forum of the Ensemble Aleph.

His music has been performed in France, Greece, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Italy, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Great Britain, Spain, the Netherlands, the USA, Canada, Argentina, Peru, Japan, South Korea and Australia, and has been selected and awarded in competitions worldwide (USA, Japan, South Korea, Germany, France, Austria, Greece, Italy, Great Britain, Argentina).

He has worked with ensembles such as Divertimento Ensemble, Proxima Centauri, Linea, Arditti Quartet, Tokyo Simfonietta, Arsenale, ECCE, Earplay, ACME, NOISE, Nouvel Ensemble Modern, Binoculaire, Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain, Juventas New Music Ensemble, Kairos Quartet, Mantegna Quartet, EnAccord Strijkkwartet, Aleph, Klang, Cairn, Ergon, Dissonart, Texture and Vertixe Sonora and soloists Lisa Cella, Krista Martynes, Lorna Windsor, Julian Boutin and Spyros Thomas.

Selected by Peter Eötvös, he was composer-in-residence at the Herrenhaus Edenkoben for the second semester of 2013, he was resident at the Villa Ruffieux in Sierre, Switzerland, from February to April 2014. In 2015, he was a Fulbright visiting scholar at the CNMAT in UC Berkeley, working on a new piece for the Ensemble Earplay, and had a two-month residency at the Akademia Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart.

He is currently working on a new work for five musicians and video projection for Das Neue Ensemble, a multimedia work for the ensemble Artéfacts commissioned by the Onassis Foundation and a piano concerto for the Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra.


Contre Tous, hommage à Nikos Galis (2017)

[Pavlos Antoniadis & Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra]

for piano and orchestra

Treillis (2017)

[Artéfacts Ensemble]

for ensemble

Incompatible(s)V-v1.2 (2011/2012)

[Pavlos Antoniadis]

for silent piano and live electronics

Court métrage (2012)

[dissonArt ensemble]

for seven musicians

Ossia (2006/2016)

[Quentin Darricau]

for baritone saxophone and live electronics

Femme-Tête-Temps (2010)

[Arditti Quartet]

for string quartet

Tâtonnement (2015)

for violin, cello, piano

bottom of page