• White Facebook Icon
  • White SoundCloud Icon

"ilSUONO Contemporary Music Week is a collaborative endeavor that emerged organically in 2015 out of my, then, five-year friendship with Mic­hele Bianchini and the members of the co­ntemporary music col­lective Ensemble Suo­no Giallo.


The mission of ilSUONO is to provide young emerging composers unique oppor­tunities for research, artistic challeng­e, experimentation, and growth. In the ideal environment of Città di Castel­lo, we created a setti­ng to encour­age and inspire. In this environment, a select pool of you­ng composers, spanni­ng over diverse cultures and aesthetic orient­ations, come together to collaborate cl­osely with highly skilled pr­ofessional instrumen­talists and renowned composers from prestigious academic institutions.­


The founding princ­iples that govern this annual project are de­dication, passion, merit, and the desire to explore the endless pote­ntial of the musical sphere." T.P.


Originally from Athens, Greece, Theocharis is a composer of acoustic, electroacoustic, and acousmatic music, currently based in San Diego, CA.

The focus of his work is centered around the ideas of duality, fragility, and fragmentation when considering the dimensions of materiality, form, electronics, and spatialization. Special emphasis is given towards the conception and construction of evocative and contrasting gestural behaviors and energies and how those dramaturgically coexist and interact in a musical experience. The notion of space is a focal point in his electronic work, which consists of real-time signal processing practices and sound designing techniques for the creation of fixed samples. 


He holds a PhD in Composition from the University of California, San Diego. He also holds degrees in composition from the Eastman School of Music (MA) and the Ionian University (BA). In 2010-11, he attended the Sibelius Academy in Finland with the Erasmus Exchange Program. For his studies, he has received scholarships from the American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association, and the OnassisLilian Voudouri, and Gerondelis Foundations.

Theocharis has taught Composition, Music Theory, Counterpoint, History of 20th Century Music, Contemporary Music, Symphonic Music, and Theory and History of Electronic Music. 


Between 2018-2020, Theocharis had been collaborating with composer Lei Liang and oceanographer Joshua Jones on several 3D audio installation projects taken place at the 32-channel Spatialization Lab of the Qualcomm Institute of Technology. The team uses data of audio recordings captured by hydrophones at the bottom of the Arctic's ocean. 

Since 2016, Theocharis leads the artistic direction of the annual summer composition academy ilSUONO Contemporary Music Week, which takes place annually in Città di Castello, Italy. The initiative was founded in collaboration with Italian saxophonist Michele Bianchini and the ensemble Suono Giallo. Theocharis's responsibilities at ilSUONO include sound engineering, programming, organizational and administrational duties, participant selections, artists invitations, and communications and promotions.


Theocharis has participated in several renowned venues and master-classes such as, among others, IRCAM's ManiFeste Academy, initially in the composition program with ensemble Intercontemporain in 2018, and then in the electronic music workshop AIME (Atelier d'Interprétation des Musiques Électroacoustiques) in 2019, FORUM with Nouvel Ensemble ModerneSEAMUS 2019 at BerkleeShanghai New Music Week with Mivos Quartet, VIPA 2016 with the [Switch~ Ensemble], Mixtur Festival 2017 with Proxima CentauriWorkshop for Young Composers in Tchaikovsky CityEtchings Festival with ECCE, IDEA Young Composers Workshop with Divertimento ensemble, World Saxophone Congress (Strasbourg, 2015 and Zagreb, 2018).


Theocharis has received instruction from Rand Steiger, Lei Liang, Ricardo Zohn Muldoon, Allan Schindler, Chaya Czernowin, Brian Ferneyhough, Fred Lerdahl, Rebecca Saunders, Philippe Leroux, Franck Bedrossian, Raphael Cendo, Georg Friedrich Haas, Beat Furrer, Francesco Filidei, and Stefano Gervasoni.


Theocharis has given master-classes at the Ionian University as well as talks at Stanford Universityand the Universidad Autónoma de Baja California (UABC)

Since the summer of 2020, he is the composer-in-residence at the Paxos Festival in Greece. In 2021, he will be the composer-in-residence of the New Music Festival at the Universidad Autónoma de Baja California (UABC) in Ensenada, Mexico.


Theocharis's music has been released by ArsPublica. His scores are published by Babel Scores.


Grit (2019)

[Dimitris Paganos Koukakis]

for piano, fixed media, live electronics, and sound diffusion


Pictorial Fields: Traces in 1A (2016)

[the Switch~ Ensemble]

for bass clarinet, violin, cello, and live electronics


doomed to its paralysed eternity (2015-16)

[ensemble Suono Giallo]

for alto flute, tenor sax, percussion, piano



l'esprit de l'escalier (2014) - excerpt

[Nouvel Ensemble Moderne]

for chamber orchestra

Trastono (2013)

[East Coast Contemporary Ensemble]

for flute, clarinet, percussion, violin, cello


Le Radeau de la Méduse (2012)

[Mivos Quartet]

for string quartet